Pussy Politics

With each passing day, I’m trying to be a little bolder in my choices and to do them without worrying what other people might think. I used to be really self-conscious of parking in handicapped spots with my placard, because I’d get weird stares or under the breath comments that I didn’t look disabled. Then when I tore my meniscus and started bringing my service dog to law school, I felt a little less weird because I had obvious indicators that I was was actually disabled.

Now, I know I don’t need these things to justify my illnesses, but to me, they were like safety blankets. Now, when I go without my knee brace or my dog (because he’s still getting used to going to classes for extended periods of time), I’m a little more confident in where I park, because fuck it, I qualify for it, and oftentimes I need it or my alternative is falling and/or getting sick on the otherwise longer walk to class.

Tonight I decided to write about all the hooplah surrounding the latest Donald Trump leaked recording. I included an article with my post, not for hardline facts to support my argument, because let’s be real, it’s Facebook, but just to illustrate what I was talking about. Within minutes I got mixed comments, the sweetest of which was my boyfriend’s mom agreeing heartedly with what I said. I got some lengthy posts by a fellow law school classmate who scolded me on my lack of using articles that completely supported my point, again, Facebook, not the New York Times…and hell, they even use less than 100% credible sources for front page news…which this certainly was not.

In this mix of long-winded and accusatory posts for not “aligning” my views with hers (her words), I also got the uninformed people commenting random, vulgar shit…the best of which was someone I went to college with. She wrote “I don’t know who you are. But time to unfriend. Enjoy getting your pussy grabbed. #MAGA.” Wow, so eloquent and educated.

No really, so many eyerolls and “wtfs.” Needless to say that friendship was nixed immediately-no loss here.

Ah, politics…should it really come to unfriending and crude messaging? I’d say not…but that’s just me. I had written my post in response to an overwhelming slew of posts for the opposite perspective, I just thought my feed needed a little balancing. Here’s hoping I don’t wake up to ten thousand more comments on the same thing…

Anywhoo, house updates. We did the final run-through of all the proposed changes/additions/etc, so now they’ve been sent off to the engineers to develop blueprints in order to submit for permits in the next few months. In the mean time, we’ve been tasked with looking at finishes for the house-everything from stucco to flooring, so that should be a kind distraction from law school.

In other house news, my boyfriend got an eviction notice from the place he’s lived at for the last several years. Kind family friends if you ask me, evicting a kid they’ve known for 20 years the day after Thanksgiving…it’s still pending if they’re going to be flexible on the move out date being pushed to after his finals in December…

So much stress, so little time. I’m looking forward to my birthday trip at the end of the month, but before I get there, I have to start and pretty much finish a paper for my Animal Law class…plus start and finish a short-term class with some professors from Europe. The class should be fun, but I’m a little scared at the amount of reading and assessments in such a short period of time.

Oh, other fun tidbit, I’ve had some changes in law school and will be able to switch to part-time status because I’ve taken summer school/am taking a lot of classes this semester. This will be good to reduce it for my health so law school doesn’t interfere with so many appointments…my wrist is still killing me and I can’t bend it very far anymore…not sure if it’s bone or tissue at issue (ha, a pun!). But one thing at at time. I’m considering tacking on an MBA class or two next year if I have time because they’re online, but we’ll see what’s being offered.

Tomorrow should be an eventful day with a double-header lunch and dinner with friends (hers first, then his).

Until Soon,

kissed.with.a.quip.

Leave a Reply

